Buddha, travel and letting go


On November 1st, I stopped at the local donut shop for the last donut run of the year with my babies. As they sat down and eat their donuts, I stirred my coffee at the register Area. In the distance, behind the counter, sat Buddha. I stared at Buddha for a moment while stirring. Pulled out a quarter and asked the man to give it to Buddha for me. He said, good luck.

As I sat at work, I told my boss and coworker but misspoke. I said, I hope Buddha comes through for me today. I didn’t mean the today part. However, my coworker then decides to buy me lunch.  Although I’m behind on bills and my cell is disconnected, all the checks I needed for the trip to drop off my baby came through, no hassle.  Although the trip was an emotional roller coaster, my friend and her husband picked us up, took us in, fed us and treated us to a movie. I had enough money on the train to help out the guy who got on with us and the 3 kids he was watching to buy some coffee or treats.When I got back to LA, I had made new friends. Alone on the train, I was never alone. We chatted, drank and caused trouble on board, I heard a lot of stories of people’s life and where they were going and why. It’s amazing how much some people can endure and what some people will do just to do it.

However, back in LA, some of the girls from the train and myself decided to hang out together as they waited for their bus and I waited for the sun to rise. Amanda (my wonder twin from the train) and myself went walking down the street to the gas station. I asked the homeless man on the street if he was hungry and with a yes, I gave him the bag of snacks I had and proceeded to purchase him an orange juice (didn’t want him getting sick).

Turns out, after I left, Amanda ran out of money. A man turned around and gave her $200 to help her out.

Just goes to show you, put out good stuff in the world and it will benefit others. I’m glad I was able to meet these people. Amanda, Bryant, Matt, the kids and myself were all starting life over again while others were getting away from it all or returning from getting away.

Each story is special and unique and although it was the hardest thing for me to send my son away, I wouldn’t change this for the world. He gets new experiences and so do I.

Author: butterflyafterlife

I'm a Assistant Director and producer for Indy Films/Shows, study as much as possible and love photography. Sometimes, I post about a thought in my head and let it take over from there. I love your support and feedback!