Did he get away or did I?


I was at this event yesterday and all throughout the day, I saw this tremendous amount of young, good-looking men walking around.  Some with children, some without but they were there nonetheless and it got me thinking about things.

Let’s set this off right, first off.  The day started with a man standing in front of me with only a towel on, helping put

something into my car.  You can’t imagine the shock and surprise I was dealing with while thinking, of course not actually saying aloud, you have time to go put shorts on.  He is my friend’s younger brother who’d I’d never met before and apparently on the wonderful path to divorce.  Now, usually, if my head was really in the game, I probably would have had a conversation with him and tried to find a way to be the shoulder for him to cry on, but I was in a rush.  So, while thanking the heaven’s for eyesight and luck, I thanked the gentlemen and went on my way.  But not without sending my friend a message that I was a little embarrassed but thank you for having me look for him.  Of course, my friend figured why I was so embarrassed when he got home later in the day and asked his brother what he was wearing and he told him that I thanked him for it.  Great times!

It took forever to get the event and by this time, I needed a cigarette.  For people who know me, they know for certain that I do not smoke.  I smoked, previously, from the age of 10 to about 28 and quit cold turkey.  Unfortunately, I have another addiction that has been acting up quite ravenously lately, for good reason, and therefore, the cigarettes were the one way to “counteract” that addiction.  So, the 20 or so guys that were sitting next to us (there was less than 20, but I like to exaggerate) were giving me beer and cigarettes, which was great.  Unfortunately, I heard one guy’s disgust for my smoking.  Wouldn’t of matter if I wasn’t totally abashed every time he looked at me, spoke to me or anything my

way.  I’m talking about tattooed from neck to ankle, gauges and the most beautiful piercing blue eyes.  Yeah, not everyone’s type of guy, but from the moment I saw him, I wanted to keep seeing him.  Of course, by the end of the day, I handed him my card, in hope’s that we can do business in the future, and in despite of the smoking, I hope he takes up my offer.  Across the way, there was another one.  Just standing there looking great!  Thank you for him, whoever created him.  🙂  There were several others who should be mentioned for the sheer awesomeness and sexyness combined.  M & D…. my goodness.  They really shouldn’t be allowed to double team anyone with their combo good looks, great smiles and wonderful attitudes.  If I didn’t know better, I would have fallen head over heels for either, if not both of these guys.  Yes, I know, many would ask why I didn’t pursue any and the answer is simple, I was working.

So, on my way home, I call the ex and for once, he is telling me about the drama that experienced that day which gives me lead-way to tell him he’s a dumb ass for dealing with such nonsense.  Luckily for cell phones, otherwise, we’d never communicate, I promise.  So, we got to talking.  I was telling him about brother in towel, tattooed guy and guy across the way.  He’s starts saying to me, something like, it should be easy for me to find a boyfriend.  At this point, being the honest of the 2 of us, I earnestly admit, I haven’t had a boyfriend since him, which about 6 years ago and my last sexual encounter was about 3 years ago (hence the smoking – trying to keep the hormones in check).  And then I got on the subject of 2 guys that I’ve happened across in the past year that have peaked my interest.  The first, I now realize, would never have worked, although witty, charming and undeniably handsome, I’m an Alien and he’s from another world.  The other, well, I’m still not completely sure what happened and there have been several conversations about the situation.  I felt like I was at home with him.  When he spoke, he amazed me by his knowledge and I am not sure that I will find another like him, but I do wonder what he thinks and if he thinks of me as often as I do him.  My ex said that he was even confused by the situation and it made no sense.  I will wonder, until the day our paths cross again, if we still feell the same.

You see… I’m a simple girl and I guess that only works for me, for the time being.  I want a man, no matter if he is tattooed or not, pierced or not, white, mexican, European, or whatever to talk to (sometimes dramatically), make love with (mostly passionately) and hug tightly during the rough times of life.  When he comes home from wherever he goes to make money in his career, I want to be there for him ready to make him happy, even if I’ve had a bad day because I know that he will ask about my day, and when he finds out I’ve had a bad day, he’ll be angry and do everything in his power to make me happy – and that will make me happy.  I want him to love me so much, that he’ll go into a fit of jealousy when his friends flirt with me, grab me up and hug me to tell me that I’m his – that will make me happy.  He will never cease to put in the work required for the both of us to be happy, and this will keep me working just as hard.  He is my best friend, my provider, my protector and my partner in crime.  Although my life is busy and hectic, I would make room for the guy who breaks through my barriers and is willing to provide what my perfect idea of a man is.  Have I met him in any of the guy’s that I’ve met?  Obviously not, otherwise we’d be together now.  I can tell you, I don’t know what he looks like and I don’t know what he does for a living, but when he finds me, I hope he has the courage to tell me.

So, the question that remains is, with any of these guys, did he get away or did I?  I’m going to say it was I who got away!

Author: butterflyafterlife

I'm a Assistant Director and producer for Indy Films/Shows, study as much as possible and love photography. Sometimes, I post about a thought in my head and let it take over from there. I love your support and feedback!