Heat in my wallet – otherwise, I’m on fire!


So, it’s roughly like 1000 degrees outside and in my parent’s old home, where me and my family live, we have no air conditioner.  We run fans, but the fans blow in heat and well, it really doesn’t help me, you know?  Work, for once, was actually pleasant today.  I spent the majority of the day, by myself, catching up on all the work I haven’t been able to get done in the past several weeks do to illness and irritation.  Me being sick and then getting irritated with people yelling at me at work.  Trust me, if I’d have started this blog about a week ago, you would have heard something quite like a tale from your local bipolar neighbor, or something of the sorts.  Moving on to today, my favorite “co-worker” showed up and smiled his pretty smile at me (I don’t get to see him often) and talked to me for a bit before having to leave again (sigh).  I must have given off the “wrong impression” (or the right one, depending on how you see it) because he believes that me and another co-worker are closer than we really are, so I kinda blew that myth all out of the water, purposefully, even though, I admit, I put that myth there on purpose to see his reaction.

Now, in the grand scheme of things (in my little world of course), there are certain males in the world that I love it when I get to see them because, although each are completely different in looks, style and jobs, they are great to look at.  I see one of them often and he isn’t such a gem to look at unless he smiles at me or says hi, which isn’t often, but it’s nice and makes working where I work, bare-able.  My co-worker, now, when he comes in, I notice now (I didn’t before) that he smiles a little brighter and stays a little longer to talk to me.  I don’t mind.  I just wish I understood what it was all about.  The other guys I enjoy, I rarely see unless very lucky or I decide to cyber stalk, which is not really something I like to do.  Feels too weird. Anyways, my “co-worker” made work worthwhile today and I appreciate it!  Now, if only I can get them to all come by one by one and make me have a great day, I’d be set.

So, back to the original thoughts at the start of this blog (men always throw me off subject), I walked out into the world after work and found it so hot that it reminded me of Florida without the humidity, which I’ll always be thankful for.  Anyways, a couple of years ago, about 4 – 5 years or so now, I took my sons down to Florida to meet the family they never met previously and I spent well over $1500 on that week-long trip where we stayed in the hotel room the majority of the time because there was no one to show us around (no one made time for us) and there was absolutely nothing to do.  (I hate Florida, by the way.)  Today, after I picked up the kids from daycare, I made a quick and decisive decision to go pick up the computer from home and take everyone to Chuck E Cheese’s. The upside, it’s not hot in here and the kids get to run around.  The downside, I used up the rest of my gas to get here, we haven’t eaten yet and I have no money to purchase tokens, food or drinks for the kids.  I do believe that things will start to look up again, just not sure exactly when that all will happen, but it will.  I’m a believer in good things coming to those who keep their eyes, hearts, ears and minds open to receive the good stuff that’s out there for them.  I haven’t yet found my pot of gold, nor have I found the biggest ditch in the world.  Things are not the greatest today but they definitely are not the worst.  My money burns like a candle doused in gasoline; money for food, money for gas, money for new shoes for the kids, money on school supplies and then let’s not forget about the bills… ugh.  However, watching my oldest finally interact with his younger siblings when he knows that we are in a tight spot, is the best money I could have today and that, my friend, is not on fire and cannot be burned away, as long as I take the moments to pay attention, and I am.

Author: butterflyafterlife

I'm a Assistant Director and producer for Indy Films/Shows, study as much as possible and love photography. Sometimes, I post about a thought in my head and let it take over from there. I love your support and feedback!